Click to Home
PrintEmail
Go To Search
The Museum Grounds
Driveway

The Rochester Hills Museum at Van Hoosen Farm is surrounded by sixteen acres of rolling park grounds. Stoney Creek, once the power source for five mills in this area, borders the property. Today, swimmers, fishermen and women, sunbathers, painters, photographers, readers, and more enjoy the historical setting of this beautiful site. A large grove of mature black walnut and maple trees surrounds the gazebo, and gardens and hillsides of daylilies, ferns, hostas, peonies, poppies, and lily-of-the-valley fill the landscape with fragrance and stunning colors.

An herb garden and fountain area are tucked into the backyard's "dimple" where the Taylor mill was once located. Joshua Van Hoosen constructed another fountain, located in the front yard, in the 1870s. According to the June 20, 1878 issue of the Rochester Era newspaper, Joshua was raising one thousand salmon fry in this fountain that were released into Stoney Creek.

The Museum buildings and grounds are owned and operated by the City of Rochester Hills as part of the Rochester Hills Park and Forestry Department. The Rochester Garden Club carefully maintains the gardens for your enjoyment!

Stay Connected
FacebookTwitterRSS