Click to Home
PrintEmail
Go To Search
Stoney Creek Schoolhouse
Schedule a Visit
The 1848 Stoney Creek Schoolhouse is available for tours and programs. For more information, please contact Michele Dunham at 248.841.2690.

History
The Schoolhouse Act of 1829 created the Stoney Creek School District. Fractional School District No. 1 was built in 1848. Like one-room schoolhouses across the country, the building originally housed children of varying ages and grades, elementary through high school. This changed in 1931, when high school students enrolled at nearby Rochester High School.

Prominent Students
Two prominent Michigan women are associated with this modest school. The influential surgeon Bertha Van Hoosen attended school here. Her niece Sarah Van Hoosen Jones, an agricultural expert and author, also attended.

1952 Addition
In 1952, an addition was built on the school to accommodate a growing population of elementary students. Later that year, the school closed permanently when the Stoney Creek School District was annexed to that of Rochester.

Where to Get Period Clothing
Williams Creek Pioneer Clothing offers handcrafted girls pioneer and prairie dresses, bonnets and aprons.

Brochure
Download a brochure to see how "We have what you need to teach 1860s style."

Tours of the School House
Tours of the school house are available by appointment. Please contact a Museum staff member via email or by calling 248.656.4663 to schedule a fascinating tour of this structure.

Video Tour
Take a brief video tour of the school.



Source: A production of the Rochester Hills Museum at Van Hoosen Farm

Stay Connected
FacebookTwitterRSS